Skip to main content

Course Outline

Prairie Dog

Prairie Dog

Non-Game Animals

Wyoming also classifies some animals as “non-game.” This classification includes a wide variety of animals and means all mammals, birds, fish, amphibians, reptiles, mollusks, crustaceans, and/or parts thereof, their viable gametes (eggs and sperm), fertilized eggs, or any hybrid or any transgenic product. A complete list of non-game animals in Wyoming is provided in Chapter 52 of the Wyoming Game and Fish Commission regulations.

Non-game animals include:

  • Amphibians such as certain frogs, salamanders, and toads 
  • Bats
  • Birds such as crow and magpie
  • Crustaceans such as crayfish
  • Some species of fish
  • Some mammals such as chipmunk, prairie dog, and shrew
  • Mollusks such as certain snails
  • Reptiles such as certain lizards, snakes, and turtles

Exotic Species

In Wyoming, exotic species are any wild animals not normally found in a wild, free, or unconfined status. This includes amphibians, birds, crustaceans, fish, mammals, mollusks, and reptiles. Examples are:

  • Flying catfish
  • Red stag
  • Zebra
  • Unit 11 of 11
  • Topic 1 of 9
  • Page 9 of 9