Skip to main content

Course Outline

The annual Hunting Seasons and Regulations pamphlet summarizes public safety laws, wildlife conservation laws, and equal opportunity laws.

The duties of the Washington Fish and Wildlife Officer include enforcing all wildlife laws and all other state laws, collecting information on wildlife management and habitat, and presenting programs in the community.

Poaching is harvesting wildlife illegally. Poachers can be fined and/or jailed along with other penalties. If you see someone poaching:

  • Report the violation to the Department of Fish and Wildlife.
  • Do not confront the poacher.

Big game, small game, upland bird, waterfowl, and turkey hunting are available in many areas of Washington.

Big game hunting is the most popular type of hunting in the state. Species that can be hunted are:

  • Mule deer, black-tailed deer, and white-tailed deer
  • Roosevelt elk and Rocky Mountain elk
  • Black bear

  • Small game species that can be hunted include the bobcat, raccoon, rabbit and hare, fox, and coyote.

    Upland birds that can be hunted include the pheasant, quail, chukar, and gray partridge. Regulations for upland bird hunting differ for western Washington and eastern Washington.

    Waterfowl that can be hunted included the mourning dove, goose, and duck.

    Turkey hunting requires both a hunting license and a separate tag. Some areas also require a permit.

    Animals that are labeled “rare,” “threatened,” or “endangered” are fully protected by law.

    • Due to their small numbers, big game animals that cannot be hunted in Washington include the grizzly bear, caribou, and pronghorn antelope.
    • Protected species also cannot be hunted; this includes the robin, blue jay, hawk, etc.

    • Unit 10 of 11
    • Topic 6 of 6
    • Page 1 of 2