About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the Wyoming Hunter Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Wyoming Hunter Education Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

You may hunt these trophy game animals:

  • Black Bear
  • Mountain Lion
  • Gray Wolf (only in northwest Wyoming)

Gray Wolves as Trophy Game

In the northwest part of Wyoming only, the gray wolf is designated as a trophy game animal. In these areas, they may be hunted with a license and per statutory and regulatory requirements.

  • The following map shows the areas designated as Gray Wolf Management Areas and where wolves can be hunted as trophy game.
  • Note that the Gray Wolf Management Areas exclude Yellowstone National Park and Grand Teton National Park.
  • In the rest of the state, the gray wolf is designated as a predatory animal.
Wolves in Wyoming
Gray Wolf Game Management Areas in Wyoming