Official West Virginia Hunter Safety Course Online
Take this West Virginia–approved course to complete your online hunter safety education.
pay only when you pass
Get Hunting certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $24.50 course.
Finish any other requirements.
Get ready to go hunting!
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of West Virginia to take this online course.
After this Course
After passing the online course, you are required to attend the Hands-On and Written Test to complete your Hunting safety certification.
What to Expect From Hunter Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe hunting practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in West Virginia Hunting Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Hunting safety education established by West Virginia. Hunter Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Hunting laws and regulations.
As a course provider approved by West Virginia Division of Natural Resources, the West Virginia Hunter Ed Course covers everything a new hunter may need to know in order to be safe in West Virginia while hunting.Sign Up For Free →
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Hunter Ed offers the only online Hunting education courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Hunter Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.
West Virginia Approved
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
Building 74, 324 Fourth Ave
South Charleston, WV 25303
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.
How do I get my Hunter Education Card?
1. Study and pass the online course.
Study and pass the $24.50 course. Throughout the West Virginia Hunter Ed Course, you’ll be tested on what you’ve learned.
2. Sign up for and attend the Hands-On and Written Test.
Immediately print out your Practical Exam Voucher, which you will need to bring with you to the Hands-On and Written Test. You need to locate and sign up for the Hands-On and Written Test. To sign up, go to https://register-ed.com/programs/westvirginia/189.
Remember: Passing the online course does not guarantee you a spot at the Hands-On and Written Test.
3. Get your Hunter Education Card.
You’ll receive your permanent Hunter Education Card after successfully completing the Hands-On and Written Test.
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions West Virginia Hunting students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions