Skip to main content

Official Maine Hunter Safety Course

Take this Maine–approved course to complete the online portion of your hunter safety education.

Maine safety education card Lifetime Card

Do you need Maine Hunting education?

You need education to purchase an adult hunting license unless you can show proof of having previously held an adult license to hunt with firearms in any year beginning with 1976.

Get hunter certified in 3 steps.

  1. Study and pass the $19.95 online course.

  2. Finish any other requirements.

  3. Get ready to go hunting!

Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife Requirements

You must be at least 10 years old to take this online course.

You do not have to be a resident of Maine to take this online course.

After This Course

If you are under 16 years of age when you REGISTER for this course, you must pass this online course and attend the Skills and Exam Day to complete your hunting safety certification.

Reviews


Customer Reviews

What to Expect From Hunter Ed

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe hunting practices.

Watch this 73-second sample to see how we put you in the hunter’s camo.

Comprehensive Instruction in Maine Hunting Safety Education

This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Hunting safety education established by Maine. Hunter Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Hunting laws and regulations.

Pages from a hunter handbook

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Hunter Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Hunter course displayed on various devices

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

Course outline displaying progress

We’re people, not robots.

Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Hunter Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

9:00 a.m. to midnight EST, seven days a week.

Get help seven days a week from professionals like Katy, Heidi, Josh, Misty, Liz, Allen, and Thomas.

1-800-830-2268 toll-free

or

214-351-0461

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team

Maine Approved

Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife logo

Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife
8 Federal St. Augusta, ME 04330 207-287-8000

Made in the U.S.A.

This Maine hunter safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations in the state of Maine and worldwide.

How do I get my Maine Hunter Education Firearms Card?

1. Study and pass the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife–Approved online course.

Study and pass the $19.95 course. Throughout the Maine Hunter Ed Course, you’ll be tested on what you’ve learned.

2. Complete your age-dependent certification requirements.

If you are 16 years or older, after successfully completing the online course, you’ll immediately print out your permanent Hunter Education Firearms Card.

If you are under 16 years of age, you’ll immediately print out your proof of online course completion, which you will need to bring with you to the Skills and Exam Day. You need to locate and sign up for the Skills and Exam Day. To sign up, go to https://www.maine.gov/ifw/programs-resources/safety-courses/firearms-hunter-safety.html.

Remember: Passing the online course does not guarantee you a spot at the Skills and Exam Day.

3. Get your Maine Hunter Education Firearms Card.

If you are 16 years or older, you’ll print your permanent Hunter Education Firearms Card after successfully passing the course and paying the fee.

If you are under 16 years of age, the Hunter Education Firearms Card will be given to you after you complete the Skills and Exam Day.

Get Started