Official Virginia Hunter Safety Course Online
Take this Virginia–approved course to complete your online Hunting safety education.
pay only when you pass
Get Hunting certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $24.50 course.
Finish any other requirements.
Get ready to go hunting!
Do you need Virginia Hunting education?
You need education if you are 12 through 15 years of age or a first-time hunter.
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You must be a resident of Virginia to take the online course.
After this Course
If you are under 12 years of age: After passing the online course, you are required to attend the Basic Hunter Education Course to complete your Hunting safety certification.
What To Expect From Hunter Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe hunting practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in Virginia Hunting Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Hunting safety education established by Virginia. Hunter Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Hunting laws and regulations.
As a course provider approved by the Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries, the Virginia Adult Hunter-Ed Course covers everything a new hunter may need to know in order to be safe in Virginia while hunting.Sign Up For Free →
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Hunter Ed offers the only online Hunting education courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Hunter Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
7870 Villa Park Drive, PO Box 90778
Henrico, VA 23228
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.
How do I get my state Hunting license?
Hunting education is currently required in many states. An approved Hunting safety course is required to comply with the laws and regulations in those jurisdictions. Depending on your age, you may be required to have the Hunter Education Certificate. For more information, see the Virginia Hunting Laws and Regulations page.
Did you lose your certificate? Replace it here.Sign Up For Free →
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Virginia Hunting students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions