Official Michigan Hunter Safety Course Online
Take this Michigan–approved course to complete your online hunter safety education.
Get hunter certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $28.95 online course.
Finish any other requirements.
Get ready to go hunting!
Michigan Department of Natural Resources Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Michigan to take this online course.
After This Course
After passing the online course, you are required to attend the Field Day to complete your hunting safety certification.
What to Expect From Hunter Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe hunting practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in Michigan Hunting Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Hunting safety education established by Michigan. Hunter Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Hunting laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Hunter Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
Michigan Department of Natural Resources
PO Box 30028 Lansing, MI 48909 517-284-6000
Made in the U.S.A.
This Michigan hunter safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations in the state of Michigan and worldwide.
How do I get my Michigan Hunter Education Certificate?
1. Study and pass the Michigan Department of Natural Resources–Approved online course.
Study and pass the $28.95 course. Throughout the Michigan Hunter Ed Course, you’ll be tested on what you’ve learned.
2. Sign up for and attend the Field Day.
Immediately print out your Temporary Hunter Education Certificate. This will allow you to purchase a license without completing the Field Day until June 1, 2021. In order to receive your permanent Michigan Hunter Education Certificate, you will need to attend an in-person field day no later than June 1, 2021, or one year from the date this certificate was issued, whichever is later. To sign up, go to http://www.dnr.state.mi.us/recnsearch/.
Temporary Certificate is required to sign up for a Field Day.
Remember: Passing the online course does not guarantee you a spot at the Field Day.
3. Get your Michigan Hunter Education Certificate.
You’ll receive your permanent Hunter Education Certificate after successfully completing the Field Day.Get Started
We’re people, not robots.
Your Hunter Ed course comes with a dedicated customer service team made up of real people, not robots. We’re here to provide assistance to you through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
We’re available to help you: