Official Texas Hunter Safety Course Online
Take this Texas–approved course to complete your online hunter safety education.
pay only when you pass
Get Hunting certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $28.95 course, and hunters over 17 also pay a $5.25 state fee.
Finish any other requirements.
Get ready to go hunting!
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Requirements
You must be at least 9 years old to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Texas to take this online course.
After this Course
If you are under 17 years of age when you REGISTER for this course, you must pass this online course and attend the Field Day to complete your hunting safety certification.
What to Expect From Hunter Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe hunting practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in Texas Hunting Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Hunting safety education established by Texas. Hunter Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Hunting laws and regulations.
As a course provider approved by Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, the Texas Hunter Ed Course covers everything a new hunter may need to know in order to be safe in Texas while hunting.Sign Up For Free →
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Hunter Ed offers the only online Hunting education courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Hunter Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Road
Austin, TX 78744
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.
How do I get my Hunter Education Certificate?
1. Study and pass the online course.
Study and pass the $24.50 course, and hunters over 17 will also pay a $5.25 Texas Parks and Wildlife Department fee. Throughout the Texas Hunter Ed Course, you’ll be tested on what you’ve learned.
2. Complete your age-dependent certification requirements.
If you are 17 years or older, after successfully completing the online course, you’ll immediately print out your proof of online course completion.
If you are under 17 years of age, you’ll immediately print out your proof of online course completion, which you will need to bring with you to the Field Day. You need to locate and sign up for the Field Day. To sign up, go to http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/learning/hunter_education/homestudy.phtml.
Remember: Passing the online course does not guarantee you a spot at the Field Day.
3. Get your Hunter Education Certificate.
If you are 17 years or older, you’ll be emailed a link to get your permanent Hunter Education Certificate by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department within 30 days.
If you are under 17 years of age, you’ll be emailed a link to get your permanent Hunter Education Certificate by the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department within 30 days after successfully completing the Field Day.
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Texas Hunting students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions