Official South Dakota Hunter Safety Course Online
Take this South Dakota–approved course to complete your online hunter safety education.
two exam attempts
Get hunter certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $17.95 online course.
Finish any other requirements.
Get ready to go hunting!
South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks Requirements
You must be at least 11 years old to take the online South Dakota Adult Hunter Ed Course, but you will not be issued a HuntSAFE Certificate until you turn 12. If your 12th birthday falls on or between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, you may be issued a card, and you will be eligible to purchase a hunting license and begin hunting Sept. 1 of that year.
You must be a resident of South Dakota to take the online course.
After This Course
If you are under 16 years of age when you REGISTER for this course, you must pass this online course and attend the Independent Study Field Day to complete your hunting safety certification.
What to Expect From Hunter Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe hunting practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in South Dakota Hunting Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Hunting safety education established by South Dakota. Hunter Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Hunting laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Hunter Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Hunter Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
9:00 a.m. to midnight EST, seven days a week.
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Katy, Heidi, Josh, Misty, Liz, Allen, and Thomas.
South Dakota Approved
South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks
20641 SD Hwy 1806
Ft. Pierre, SD 57532
Made in the U.S.A.
This South Dakota hunter safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations in the state of South Dakota and worldwide.
How do I get my South Dakota HuntSAFE Certificate?
1. Study and pass the South Dakota Department of Game, Fish and Parks–Approved online course.
Study and pass the $17.95 course. Throughout the South Dakota Adult Hunter Ed Course, you’ll be tested on what you’ve learned.
2. Complete your age-dependent certification requirements.
If you are 16 years or older, after successfully completing the online course, you’ll immediately print out your proof of online course completion.
If you are under 16 years of age, you’ll immediately print out your proof of online course completion, which you will need to bring with you to the Independent Study Field Day. You need to locate and sign up for the Independent Study Field Day. To sign up, go to http://gfp.sd.gov/outdoor-learning/hunter-education/ClassList.aspx#gvHunterSafetyFieldDayClasses.
Remember: Passing the online course does not guarantee you a spot at the Independent Study Field Day.
3. Get your South Dakota HuntSAFE Certificate.
If you are 16 years or older, you’ll print your permanent HuntSAFE Certificate after successfully passing the course and paying the fee.
If you are under 16 years of age, the HuntSAFE Certificate will be given to you after you complete the Independent Study Field Day.
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions South Dakota Hunting students most frequently ask.South Dakota Frequently Asked Questions