Official California Hunter Safety Course Online
Take this California–approved course to complete your online hunter safety education.
Get hunter certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $28.95 online course.
Finish any other requirements.
Get ready to go hunting!
California Department of Fish and Wildlife Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of California to take this online course.
After This Course
After passing the online course, you are required to attend the Follow-Up Class to complete your hunting safety certification.
What to Expect From Hunter Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe hunting practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in California Hunting Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Hunting safety education established by California. Hunter Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Hunting laws and regulations.
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Hunter Ed offers online courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Hunter Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
9:00 a.m. to midnight EST, seven days a week.
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Katy, Heidi, Josh, Misty, Liz, Allen, and Thomas.
California Department of Fish and Wildlife
1416 9th Street, Suite 1342-6A
Sacramento, CA 95814
Made in the U.S.A.
This California hunter safety course is proudly made to serve students, agencies, and organizations in the state of California and worldwide.
How do I get my California Hunter Education Certificate?
1. Study and pass the California Department of Fish and Wildlife–Approved online course.
Study and pass the $28.95 course. Throughout the California Hunter Ed Course, you’ll be tested on what you’ve learned.
2. Sign up for and attend the Follow-Up Class.
Immediately print out your Online Course Completion Voucher, which you will need to bring with you to the Follow-Up Class. In order to sign up for the Follow-Up Class, you will need to follow the instructions listed here. Then you can locate and sign up for the Follow-Up Class. To sign up, go to https://register-ed.com/programs/california/161.
Remember: Passing the online course does not guarantee you a spot at the Follow-Up Class.
3. What to Expect at the Follow-Up Class.
This is a 4-hour review of the online course with a certified hunter education instructor. It includes a student demonstration of a safe firearm handling and a test. After attending and passing this portion of the hunting education requirement, you will receive a Hunter Education Certificate.
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions California Hunting students most frequently ask.California Frequently Asked Questions