Skip to main content

Course Outline

  • It is common to categorize wild animals into groups that are similar in some way; for example:
    • Large mammals
    • Small mammals
    • Upland birds
    • Waterfowl and wetland birds
    • Birds of prey
  • Game animals are wildlife that can be hunted legally. To be classified as legal game, the animals must:
    • Be useful, primarily for food.
    • Be abundant with population levels that can be sustained.
    • Offer a unique or traditional challenge for hunters.
  • Species that are listed as “threatened” or “endangered” are protected by law.
    • Some species are protected from hunting because their numbers are small and they produce no surplus to harvest.
    • Examples of protected species are eagles, falcons, and owls.
Bald eagle

Bald Eagle

Whooping crane

Whooping Crane

  • Unit 9 of 10
  • Topic 3 of 3
  • Page 2 of 10