Official Hunter Safety Education Course
If you are 30 years of age or older and take this Nebraska state-recognized online course, you will not be required to attend a Field Day.
If you are under 30 years of age, take this course to prepare for the Nebraska Firearm Hunter Education Field Day.
State Law Hunters ages 12 through 29 must have on their person proof of successful completion of firearm hunter education while hunting with a firearm or crossbow.
Get your Nebraska Hunter Education Certificate in 3 steps.
Study the Online Course Material
Study the free online course material to provide you with the knowledge and skills you need to learn to be a safe and responsible hunter in Nebraska. You'll pay a $24.50 course fee after successfully completing the course.
Age Requirement You must be at least 11 years old to take the Nebraska Hunter's Ed course online.
Complete Age-Dependent Certification Requirements
If you are 30 years of age or older, once you've completed all the units in the course, you'll take the Nebraska Licensed Hunter Exam. Passing the Final Exam will complete your Nebraska Game & Parks Commission hunter education requirement.
Nebraska Licensed Hunter Requirement
To take this online course:
- You must be a current Nebraska resident.
- You must be a currently licensed Nebraska hunter who has been a licensed Nebraska hunter for a minimum of two years.
- You have never been responsible for a hunting accident where someone was injured, and your hunting privileges have never been suspended or revoked in any state.
- You must view yourself as having considerable hunting experience.
If you are under 30 years of age, to complete the Nebraska hunter education requirements, you must pass both the online and Firearm Hunter Education Field Day portions of the hunter education course. Learn more about the Firearm Hunter Education Field Day.
Receive Your Nebraska Hunter Education Certificate
If you are 30 years of age or older, after passing the Nebraska Licensed Hunter Exam and paying the course fee, you'll immediately print out your Temporary Hunter Education Certificate (valid for 30 days). You can get your permanent Nebraska Hunter Education Certificate online for free from the Nebraska Game & Parks Commission.
If you are under 30 years of age, after attending and passing the required Firearm Hunter Education Field Day, which includes safe firearm techniques and participation in a live-fire exercise, you will receive your permanent Hunter Education Certificate from the Nebraska Game & Parks Commission.Ready? Start the Course Today →
Studying and Completing the Online Course
Study the Course Content
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for hunter training established by the International Hunter Education Association (IHEA-USA).
Read each unit. The units are organized to form building blocks of information. Each unit will help you understand the information in the next units.
This official training program will provide you with the knowledge and skills you need to be a safe and responsible hunter in Nebraska.
Pass the Course, Ages 30+
If you are 30 years of age or older, after completing all units, you'll proceed directly to the online Nebraska Licensed Hunter Exam.
The Nebraska Licensed Hunter Exam covers all the course material and will assess your knowledge of hunting safely in Nebraska.
You must score 85% or greater on the Nebraska Licensed Hunter Exam to pass. If you fail the Nebraska Licensed Hunter Exam, don't worry. You have unlimited attempts to pass.
Pass the Course, Ages Under 30
If you are under 30 years of age, you'll be given the opportunity to demonstrate how well you're understanding the hunter safety topics by taking a quiz at the end of each unit.
You'll need to score 80% or greater on the unit quiz before moving on to the next unit. If you don't pass a unit quiz, that's no problem. You can study until you feel you are ready to take the quiz again.
For those under 30 years of age, after passing the online quizzes, mandatory attendance at the Nebraska Firearm Hunter Education Field Day is the required second step.
After Passing the Online Course…
If you are under 30 of age: After passing the online course, you are required to attend the Nebraska Game & Parks Commission Firearm Hunter Education Field Day to complete your hunter education certification.
A Comprehensive Course in Nebraska Hunter Safety Education
Developed Specifically for Nebraska Hunters
Featuring the Best Hunting Safety Videos Available
Produced by hunter education experts and found only at hunter-ed.com, these hunter safety videos are fun to watch, and they’ll make you a better, safer hunter.
Check out the 1-minute preview and see for yourself.
Interactive Learning Exercises and Games
Your hunter safety education is reinforced by getting hands-on. Watch, click, drag, drop, shoot, and more as you progress through the hunter safety course.
Do you know when to "Shoot or Don’t Shoot"? Play Hunter Ed’s Interactive Learning Game and find out!
Comprehensive Hunter Education Content
This course includes easy-to-understand hunting safety instructions and hundreds of detailed illustrations to provide you with the knowledge and skills necessary to become a safe and responsible hunter.
Hunter Ed is the only hunting safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of state government hunting and wildlife agencies.
Reviewed and Recognized by:
Nebraska Game & Parks Commission
2200 N. 33rd St.
Lincoln, NE 68503
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or completed a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we’ll keep track of your progress.
This hunter safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, or desktop computer. It’s easy to study the course material from any place at any time.
Made in the USA
This hunting education safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, USA, and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the USA.
If I am not a licensed hunter, how do I get my state hunting license?
Depending on your age, you may be required to have a hunter education certificate in order to purchase a Nebraska Hunting License. For more information, see the Nebraska Hunter Laws and Regulations page.
Did you lose your certificate? Replace it here.