New Mexico’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including New Mexico. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this New Mexico-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for New Mexico.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
A hunter education course is required in New Mexico prior to applying for or purchasing a firearms hunting license if you are under 18 years of age.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept New Mexico Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, New Mexico will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age You must be at least 11 years old to take the New Mexico Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in New Mexico, contact:
New Mexico Department of Game and Fish
1 Wildlife Way
Santa Fe, NM 87507