About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Washington Hunter Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Certification Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Hunter education course review and summary

The Hunting Seasons and Regulations pamphlet is an annual publication that gives a summary of the current Washington hunting rules and regulations. To hunt in Washington, you must:

  • Have a valid hunting license. For certain species, special tags, permits, and/or stamps also are needed.
    • Persons under 16 years of age do not need a state or federal migratory waterfowl stamp to hunt.
    • No one under 18 years of age may possess a firearm unless he/she is hunting or trapping with a valid license.
    • Other exceptions also apply.
  • Complete the hunter education training program successfully if you were born after January 1, 1972. You must show your certificate to get a license.
  • Notch your tag and attach it immediately after killing any big game animal or turkey.

Hunter education course review and summary

Licenses and tags may be purchased at license dealerships across Washington. If you need help to locate a store selling licenses, contact your local Department of Fish and Wildlife office.

Hunter education course review and summary

In Washington, many activities involving hunting and wildlife are illegal. Be sure you know which actions violate the law.