Washington’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Washington. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Washington-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Washington.
Pay $19.50 Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
Washington State law requires all individuals born after January 1, 1972, to show proof of basic hunter education training before purchasing a hunting license.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Washington Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Washington will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age There are no minimum age requirements to take the Washington Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Washington, contact:
Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife
1111 Washington St. SE
Olympia, WA 98501