Idaho’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Idaho. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Idaho-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Idaho.
Pay Only When You Pass
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
Completion of an approved hunter education course is required for anyone born on or after January 1, 1975.
An education course is not required if an individual has previously held a valid hunting license in Idaho or any other state.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Idaho Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Idaho will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age You must be at least 10 years old to take the Idaho Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Idaho, contact:
Idaho Department of Fish and Game
P.O. Box 25
Boise, ID 83707