Wisconsin’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Wisconsin. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Wisconsin-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Wisconsin.
Pay Only When You Pass
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
Hunter education is required for anyone born on or after January 1, 1973. No person younger than 10 years old may obtain a hunting license.
The following persons may only hunt with a mentor:
- Anyone born on or after January 1, 1973, who has not completed hunter education
- Youth ages 10 and 11
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Wisconsin Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Wisconsin will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age There are no minimum age requirements to take the Wisconsin Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Wisconsin, contact:
Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources
101 S. Webster St.
P.O. Box 7921
Madison, WI 53707-7921