Virginia’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Virginia. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Virginia-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Virginia’s Basic Hunter Education Course.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
Hunter education is mandatory for those 12 through 15 years of age and first-time hunters.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Virginia Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Virginia will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Important There is no minimum age to take this online course.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Virginia, contact:
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
4010 W. Broad Street
P.O. Box 11104
Richmond, VA 23230