About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Tennessee Hunter Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Hunter Education Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

To understand the hunting requirements in Tennessee, you need to know the terminology used to refer to the different wildlife groups. Game species in Tennessee include small game, big game, and waterfowl. Small game includes migratory birds, furbearers, and other small game species.

The migratory birds that may be hunted are:

  • Crow
  • Mourning Dove
  • Wilson’s Snipe
  • Woodcock
Mourning Dove
Mourning Dove