Tennessee’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Tennessee. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Tennessee-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Tennessee.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
State law requires anyone born on or after January 1, 1969, to complete a hunter education course before hunting in Tennessee.
Persons under the age of 10 do not require a hunter education certificate but may hunt only if they are under the direct supervision of an adult who is at least 21 years of age.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Tennessee Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Tennessee will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Important You must be at least 9 years old to take the Tennessee Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Tennessee, contact:
Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
440 Hogan Rd.
Nashville, TN 37220