Official North Carolina Hunter Safety Course

Take this North Carolina–approved course to complete your online Hunting safety education.

Get Hunting certified in 3 steps.

  1. Study and pass the $19.50 course.

  2. Finish any other requirements.

  3. Get ready to go hunting!

Do you need North Carolina Hunting education?

You need education if you are a first-time hunter buying a hunting license in North Carolina or if you are under 16 years old and plan to hunt without an adult.

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission Requirements

There is no minimum age requirement to take the North Carolina Course.

You do not have to be a resident of North Carolina to take this online course.

After this Course

After passing the online course, you are required to attend the Hunter Education Field Day to complete your Hunting safety certification.

What To Expect From Hunter Ed

Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos

Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe hunting practices.

 

Watch this 73-second sample to see how we put you in the hunter’s camo.

Comprehensive Instruction in North Carolina Hunting Safety Education

This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Hunting safety education established by North Carolina. Hunter Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Hunting laws and regulations.

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission logo

State-Approved Content

As a course provider approved by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission, the North Carolina Course covers everything a new hunter may need to know in order to be safe in North Carolina while hunting.

Sign Up For Free →

Learn Your Way on Any Device

Hunter Ed offers the only online Hunting education courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.

Saved Progress

You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.

We’re people, not robots.

Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Hunter Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.

8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday

Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.

1-800-830-2268 toll-free

or

214-351-0461

Email Hunter Ed Support

Members of the Kalkomey Support Team

North Carolina Approved

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission logo

North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
1752 Varsity Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606
919-707-0010

Made in the U.S.A.

This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.

How do I get my state Hunting license?

Hunting education is currently required in many states. An approved Hunting safety course is required to comply with the laws and regulations in those jurisdictions. Depending on your age, you may be required to have the Hunter Education Certificate in order to legally buy a license or permit to hunt. For more information, see the North Carolina Hunting Laws and Regulations page.

Did you lose your certificate? Replace it here.

Sign Up For Free →

Need help? Here are the answers to the questions North Carolina Hunting students most frequently ask.

Frequently Asked Questions