About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the Missouri Hunter Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Conservation Heritage Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Safe, legal hunting requires the ability to identify wild animals. Every species of wildlife is unique and may have wide variations in size, shape, color, and habits.

Dividing wildlife into groups that are similar in some way can help you learn the important features of animals and birds; for example:

  • Large Mammals: elk, deer, bear, coyote, bobcat
  • Small Mammals: rabbit, squirrel, otter, beaver, fox, raccoon, skunk
  • Upland Birds: turkey, dove, quail, pheasant, prairie chicken, crow
  • Waterfowl & Wetland Birds: duck, goose, crane, snipe
  • Birds of Prey: eagle, hawk, owl, falcon

Within each of these groups, species may be threatened or endangered and protected by law. Some species are protected because their numbers are small and they produce no surplus to harvest.

Bald eagle
Bald Eagle
Whooping crane
Whooping Crane