Texas Hunter Education Course
About the Course and Hunting License Requirements
hunting law, every hunter (including out-of-state hunters)
born on or after September 2, 1971, must successfully complete
a hunter education course. The minimum age for certification
is 9 years. A hunting
license and proof of certification is required to be on your
person while hunting.
Online Hunter Education Home Study Steps
- Study the online Texas hunter safety course.
- Take the Field Day Qualifier
Exam. Pay $19.50—one time only, after you pass.
your Texas Field Day Qualifier Exam Certificate,
which is accepted by the state as proof of home study.
- Call 1-800-792-1112, Ext. 4999 or visit the Texas
Parks and Wildlife Department Hunter Education web page to
learn about Field Day (Home Study / Skills Trail Testing)
options in your area.
- After successful completion of the Field Day (Home Study
/ Skills Trail Testing) portion,
including a written exam requiring a passing score of 80%,
you will receive a “Temporary Student Card” issued
by the instructor. Your official certification card
will arrive in the mail, so please retain and protect your “Temporary
Student Card” until that time.
uses the exact hunter education material taught in the Texas Parks and Wildlife classroom courses. Prepare for your Field Day with confidence!