Texas’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Texas. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Texas-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Texas.
Pay $24.50 Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
The State of Texas requires all hunters born on or after September 2, 1971, to successfully complete a hunter education course.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Texas Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Texas will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age You must be at least 9 years old to take the Texas Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Texas, contact:
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
4200 Smith School Road
Austin, TX 78744