Oregon’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Oregon. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Oregon-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Oregon.
Pay $24.50 Only When You Pass
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
Any hunter in Oregon under the age of 18 must have a hunter education certificate.
A hunter education certificate is not required for a minor under age 18 if he or she is hunting on private land owned by a parent or guardian, or is participating in a mentored youth hunt sponsored by the Oregon DF&W.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Oregon Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Oregon will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age There are no minimum age requirements to take the Oregon Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Oregon, contact:
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
3406 Cherry Avenue N.E.
Salem, OR 97303