North Carolina’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including North Carolina. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this North Carolina-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for North Carolina.
Pay $19.50 Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
On or after July 1, 2013, a person, regardless of age, may not purchase a hunting license in North Carolina without producing one of the following: a hunter education certificate of competency, a NC hunting heritage apprentice permit, or a NC hunting license issued prior to July 1, 2013.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept North Carolina Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, North Carolina will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age There are no minimum age requirements to take the North Carolina Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in North Carolina, contact:
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
1752 Varsity Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606