New York’s Hunter Safety Education Program

Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including New York. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.

By completing and passing this New York-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for New York.

Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!

Who Needs the Certificate?

Anyone 12 or older, who cannot show proof that they have ever possessed a hunting license.

Good in Other States

All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept New York Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, New York will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Why Hunter Education?

Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.

Age Restrictions

Minimum Age You must be at least 11 years old to take the New York Hunter’s Ed Course online.

For More Information

For additional information on hunter education in New York, contact:

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
625 Broadway
Albany, NY 12233-0001
518-402-8013
http://www.dec.ny.gov/