Missouri’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Missouri. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Missouri-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Missouri.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
If you plan to hunt alone with a firearm, you were born on or after January 1, 1967, or you are 16 years of age or older, you will need to take and pass a hunter education course or purchase an Apprentice Hunter Authorization before you can buy a permit.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Missouri Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Missouri will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age You must be at least 11 years old to take the Missouri Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Missouri, contact:
Missouri Department of Conservation
2901 W. Truman Blvd.
Jefferson City, MO 65109