Maryland’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Maryland. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Maryland-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Maryland.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
To purchase a hunting license or to hunt in Maryland, state law requires presentation of a Certificate of Competency in Firearms and Hunter Safety (required for junior licensees), or certification that you held a hunting license issued prior to July 1, 1977.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Maryland Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Maryland will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age You must be at least 16 years old to take the Maryland Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Maryland, contact:
Maryland Department of Natural Resources
580 Taylor Avenue
Annapolis, MD 21401