Louisiana’s Hunter Safety Education Program

Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Louisiana. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.

By completing and passing this Louisiana-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Louisiana.

Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!

Who Needs the Certificate?

The state of Louisiana requires all hunters born on or after September 1, 1969, to successfully complete a hunter education course.

Good in Other States

All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Louisiana Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Louisiana will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)

Why Hunter Education?

Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.

Age Restrictions

Minimum Age You must be at least 10 years old to take the Louisiana Hunter’s Ed Course online.

For More Information

For additional information on hunter education in Louisiana, contact:

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
P.O. Box 98000, 2000 Quail Dr.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70898
1-800-256-2749
http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/