Kentucky’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Kentucky. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Kentucky-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Kentucky.
Pay Only When You Pass
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
Effective March 1, 1991, all hunters born on or after January 1, 1975, shall, while hunting, carry a valid hunter education course completion card in addition to the appropriate Kentucky hunting license.
Check for exemption info on the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources website.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Kentucky Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Kentucky will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age You must be at least 9 years old to take the Kentucky Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Kentucky, contact:
Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
#1 Sportsman's Lane
Frankfort, KY 40601