Iowa’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Iowa. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Iowa-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Iowa.
Pay $24.50 Only When You Pass
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
Anyone born after January 1, 1972, must be certified in hunter education before they are eligible to purchase an Iowa hunting license.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Iowa Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Iowa will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Important You must be at least 11 years old and a resident of Iowa to take the online course.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Iowa, contact:
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
502 E. 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034