Illinois’s Hunter Safety Education Program
Formal hunter education efforts began in the late 1940s and later expanded nationwide until it is now required almost everywhere, including Illinois. Since the implementation of education, there has been a tremendous decline in hunting-related incidents across the country.
By completing and passing this Illinois-approved online hunting license course, you will have satisfied the classroom educational requirement for Illinois.
Pay $24.50 Only When You Pass
two exam attempts
Get Safe. Get Certified. It’s the Law!
Who Needs the Certificate?
Anyone born after January 1, 1980, must be certified in hunter education before they are eligible to purchase an Illinois hunting license.
Persons presenting evidence of having held a hunting license issued by the State of Illinois or another state in a prior year.
Good in Other States
All states and provinces that have mandatory hunter education requirements will accept Illinois Hunter Education certifications. Likewise, Illinois will accept hunter education certifications that are issued by other states and provinces that meet official IHEA-USA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Why Hunter Education?
Since states have begun requiring hunter education, over the last 30 years hunting incidents have drastically decreased, while the number of hunters has increased. Today, hunting is one of the safest outdoor activities you can enjoy.
Minimum Age There are no minimum age requirements to take the Illinois Hunter’s Ed Course online.
For More Information
For additional information on hunter education in Illinois, contact:
Illinois Department of Natural Resources
One Natural Resources Way
Springfield, IL 62702-1271