The laws that govern the Arizona Game and Fish Department and regulate the taking of wildlife are listed in Title 17 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. The Arizona Game and Fish Commission creates rules to enforce this statute.
- Everyone needs a license to hunt wildlife in Arizona. You must have in your possession a valid hunting or combination hunting and fishing license, plus any required permit-tags, nonpermit-tags, or stamps. These must be produced upon request to any game ranger, wildlife manager, or peace officer.
- Licenses can be purchased online at azgfd.gov or from license dealers throughout the state. You also can purchase a license from any Arizona Game and Fish Department office.
Who May Hunt
No one under 10 years of age may hunt big game in Arizona.
Any person 10 to 13 years of age may hunt big game only if he or she has in his or her possession the required license and tag(s) and a valid hunter education course completion card.
No one under 14 years of age may take big game without first completing an approved hunter education course.
Any person under 10 years of age without a license may hunt wildlife, except big game, during open season only if accompanied by a licensed person 18 years of age or older. A license holder may not accompany more than two unlicensed children.
Any person 10 years of age or older may hunt wildlife in Arizona with the required license.
Who Is a Resident?
Arizona Revised Statute 17-101.15 defines a resident as:
- A person who has been a resident of Arizona for six months immediately preceding the date of application for a license or …
- A member of the armed forces who has been stationed in Arizona for a minimum of 30 days immediately preceding the date of application for a license.
There are several classes of hunting and fishing licenses available. For details, see a license dealer or visit the Arizona Game and Fish Department website.
Resident licensed hunters are able to obtain a free Apprentice Hunting License, valid for two days, for use when mentoring a new hunter. This affords new hunters the opportunity to “try before you buy” under the supervision of a licensed hunter.
An Apprentice Hunting License is valid for two consecutive days when the apprentice is accompanied in the field by a mentor. An Apprentice Hunting License is valid for the taking of small game, fur-bearing animals, predatory animals, nongame animals, nongame birds, and upland game birds. Any required stamps must be purchased in addition to obtaining an Apprentice Hunting License. An apprentice may be a resident or nonresident and may only be licensed pursuant to this paragraph once per calendar year. A mentor must be a bona fide resident of this state who is at least 18 years of age and must possess a license designated in statute. A mentor may apply for no more than two Apprentice Hunting Licenses per calendar year. When applying for an Apprentice Hunting License, the mentor must name the person he or she will be taking afield. Consult A.R.S. 17-333 for more information.